Another Analogy…But A Work in Progress

I’ve mentioned a number of times the huge power I find in analogies and how key they are to making complex material digestable.  I implemented another useful one the other day.  It was all about diagosing reaction types for intro chemistry students I was helping.  As always, they were getting lost in the weeds on the terminology, and I was loking for a simple way to explain them…

1) Combination Reaction –> A Marriage

2) Decomposition Reaction –> A Divorce

3) A Single Replacement Reaction –> Cheating on your spouse

4) Double Replacement Reaction –> Well…(I need a better way to explain this!…a little too risque I worry)

For better or worse, this turning chemical reactions into interpersonal relationships is REALLY working!

About Mr. Metcalfe

Hi! My name is Mr. Metcalfe. I live in CT with my amazing wife and three wonderful children. I have a slightly unhealthy obsession with fly fishing and spend lots of time pursuing striped bass, trout, steelhead and salmon all around the great northeast. I am currently in the process of looking for a full-time biology/chemistry teaching position. This blog is a chance to share everything I love about the subjects and test out different topics, methods, etc. I would some day like to incorporate into my own classroom.

Posted on May 5, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment